Laois was originally referred to as Queens County by the British. After Ireland gained its independence, Queens county was renamed Laois (pronounced Leesh) after the Loigis, who were the professional Pict soldiers that assisted the Laigin (Welsh aggressors) in their conquest of Leinster.
Laois (Holiday Homes, Laois, Ireland) history of human occupation goes back at least 8,500 years. Christianity was prominant in the 500s AD. Monastic settlements in the area were raided by the Vikings. The Anglo- Normans got hold of the territorys prime grounds in the early 14th century. From the later 14th century to the 16th century, the indigenous Gaelic people regained control under the leadership of the OMore clan. This ended when the British entered Laois and siezed rulership for themselves.
Laois (Self Catering, Laois, Ireland) The uniform limestone floor of the Central Plain is interrupted, on the northern edge of this county, by the high ridge of Slieve Bloom (1733 ft.), formed of sandstones and slates which break through the lime- stone, and in the south-east by lower hills formed of shales, containing coal seams, which lie on the top of the limestone. between the. two uplands, the railway from Dublin to Cork runs straight across the county. This area forms the main gathering-ground of the rivers Barrow and Nore. lakes are almost absent. Maryborough. the assize town, in the middle of the county, is a busy place. Durrow lies to the west, Portarlington, and Mouutmellick to the north, Stradbally to the east, Mountrath, and Rathdowney to the west.